you go to my head…

escrita em 1939, essa canção ainda faz sucesso sempre que é tocada. a música é de joe fred coots e a letra de haven gillespie. ela foi gravada por judy garlandbillie holiday, frank sinatra, louis armstrong, art pepper, linda ronstadt e, recentemente, por rod stewart.

you go to my head and you linger like a haunting refrain,
and i find you spinning ’round in my brain
like the bubbles in a glass of champagne…

you go to my head like a sip of sparkling Burgundy brew
and i find the very mention of you
like the kicker in a julep or two…

the thrill of the thought that you might give a thought to my plea
cast a spell over me,
still i say to myself – get a hold of yourself –
can’t you see that it never can be…

you go to my head with a smile that makes my temperature rise,
like a summer with a thousand Julys
you intoxicate my soul with your eyes…

though i’m certain that this heart of mine
hasn’t a ghost of a chance in this crazy romance
you go to my head…

(Haven Gillespie & Joe Fred Coots)

Leave a Reply

